Review: Lisa Renee Jones – Master Undone

Inside Out Series:

Book 2.5:

Master Undone:

The Master Undone (Inside Out, #2.5)

Purchase on Amazon:

The Master Undone: An Inside Out Novella

Summary:

From Goodreads.com

*** The Master Undone is a part of the Inside Out trilogy, and is told from his POV. ***
I told him goodbye, and I will not call him. I know if I do, it will be my undoing, and I’ll once again be caught up in his spell. I will once again be…lost.
In her private journals, Rebecca laid bare her soul, revealing her obsession for the one man whose erotic demands captivated her imagination–and enslaved her forever. Now, with Rebecca no longer in his life he is lost, questioning everything he thought he knew about himself and about control he holds in such high regard. One women will reach out to heal him and then turn away, leaving him haunted. She is nothing he thought he wanted and somehow everything he needs. He tells himself to forget her but he cannot escape his desire for her. He has to have more..

Review:

Guest Review by Tina:

The four novellas: Rebeccas’s Journals have actually been my favorite part of the Inside Out trilogy/series. So I was really looking forward to this novella, The Master Undone. I think there may have been squeeing and bouncing going on, when I got it. Okay, there totally was. I was excited.

TMU was much shorter than the previous four novellas and in this case, it was probably a good thing. Mark is revealed for certain to be “Master” towards the end of Being Me. In all the novellas he’s portrayed as being very mysterious, somewhat cold an extremely dominant. The thing, for me, that made the journals so interesting was the complexity of Rebecca and Masters relationship. Her feelings and thoughts are the only ones we get to be a party to and one constant was her confusion about how Master truly felt about her. The had to be more there than just the M/s relationship, right? Did he actually love her and just didn’t know how to express that? Was he thinking of committing to more with her?

The answers I was so looking forward to getting from TMU were unsatisfying. In fact, they were vague, at best. For the most part, TMU seems almost unrelated to the series as whole. It certainly doesn’t leave you feeling like you know any more about Rebecca and Marks relationship than you did when you finished Being Me.

TMU starts out with Mark flying to NY to see his mother, who is sick with breast cancer. He’s met by an employee, and close friend of his mother, who’s name I can’t remember. Her impact on me was minimal, to say the least. The entire novella is basically a switch off between Marks concern for his mother and his confusion over his attraction to this woman, who’s not at all his type. We’re hit over the head with how much this woman is not his type but he still wants her. Mark is a wimpy, sad, shadow of the Master we’ve gotten to know throughout the series.

Bottom line: All that insight into Rebecca and Marks relationship that I was anxiously anticipating? Basically, non-existent. In truth, he rarely thinks on Rebecca except the occasional guilt over her death and his self recriminations. They are few and are left in the dust in favor of his mooning over new chick. Who’s not even his type. Who he wants anyway. Blah, blah. The culmination of all this non important and uninteresting material is one generic, lackluster sex scene that was boring to read and surprisingly contained no bdsm whatsoever, even though it is a Master who as we’re told in other books, doesn’t do vanilla. Vanilla was a flavor explosion compared to this sex scene.

The entire novella felt like a prologue to a spin-off series, a series I doubt I’ll be reading if the characters continue the way they did in TMU.

*This copy was provided through Edelweiss for an honest review. No other compensation was provided.

Vintage Heart 2

5 thoughts on “Review: Lisa Renee Jones – Master Undone

  1. I really enjoy this series and I thought the novella was great. Cannot wait to read Revealing Us. I think that it helped to see the master’s view and his way of thinking. It answered so many of the questions I had about him.

  2. I found having not read the whole series yet that it gave a spoiler for me but I plan to change that and go back and finish reading this series in order. It did leave me wanting to read more about the relationship between Mark and Crystal. And hopefully I’ll get all caught up for the “Revealing Us” release next month.
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

