Review: Colleen Hoover – Slammed

Slammed Series:

Book 1:

Slammed: Will Cooper and Layken Cohen

 

Slammed (Slammed, #1)

 

Purchase on Amazon: Colleen Hoover – Slammed

Summary:

From Goodreads.com

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Review:

I cried, I gotta give it a five thats my rule and I’m sticking to it!

I have to say i HATE poetry, I’ve always hated it. LOL! And there is quite a bit of it in this book; however, I may hate poetry but I can respect, like and understand the emotion behind it.

This book gets heavy, it seems like none of the characters can catch a break at the same time it is amazing optimistic. Yes, there are some freak outs, some angry lashing out, but beneath it all there some hope, appreciation for life, wisdom, humor and most importantly LOVE of all kinds.

I liked all of the character, but especially Eddie. Her outlook on life and enthusiasm just has a way of infecting you.

Will and Lake had a beautiful thing going, if only they could have gotten their ish together sooner, but then we wouldn’t have had their conflict. So I guess it was necessary.

Overall, I didn’t expect to like this one as much as I did especially when I knew I was dealing with High Schoolers (which i like even less then poetry). There was a lot of depth of story and character. It was also very well written, I like an author that can pull write intelligently!

Rating: 5 Romanticals

Leave a Reply

