ARC Review: Lisa Renee Jones – Being Me

Inside Out Trilogy:

Book 2:

Being Me:

 

Being Me (Inside Out Trilogy, #2)

 

Expected publication: June 11th 2013

Purchase on Amazon: Lisa Renee Jones – Being Me (Inside Out Trilogy)

Summary:

From Goodreads.com

Fascinated by the dark fantasies in the journals she’s discovered, and the two men who have now found a place in her life, Sara McMillan finds herself torn between her new life and her past. Now, more than ever, Sara identifies with the lost journal writer, Rebecca, and is certain that something sinister has happened.

In the arms of the sexy, tormented artist Chris Merit, Sara seeks answers about Rebecca and ends up discovering things about herself she never knew existed. Chris forces Sara to reconsider who she is and what she truly wants from life, but not before his dark desires threaten to tear them apart. Her boss, Mark Compton, offers her the shelter to understand just what those needs mean to her, and what they might have meant to Rebecca, but can she trust him to lead her to a final conclusion to Rebecca’s story?

Review:

This is a guest review by Tina!

First off, let me start by saying that I absolutely lovvved the first book, IF I WERE YOU.  I mean crazy, girl crush on Ms. Jones, loved it. I equally loved the 4 companion novellas: Rebecca’s Journals.  IF I WERE YOU was the first book I’ve ever read, I think, that I didn’t have the whole thing figured out halfway through. In fact, even after finishing it as well as all four journals, I was still no closer to figuring it all out. I was ready this time, though for it to all unfold.  I anxiously waited, counting the months until this book was released I even went back and re-read IF I WERE YOU in preparation for BEING ME. Crazy excited does not even come close to describing what I felt for this release.

Regrettably I wish I could say that BEING ME lived up to my expectations. I ended up so very disappointed with BEING ME.  Don’t get me wrong, my girl crush on LRJ is still going strong but right now I’m thinking we need a little space. Our MC, Sara, who in the first book was fairly self-assured, witty and intelligent, ended up being whiny, indecisive and insecure.  I swear the chick was borderline bi-polar at times and the rollercoaster that was her thoughts, was a ride I couldn’t wait to get off of.  Her thoughts were constantly up, down, round and round only to rinse and repeat. She was constantly waffling over every decision then second guessing her hard come by decision as soon as she makes it. No joke, there were several instances where she’d come to a decision, a conclusion or what have you and then change her mind completely, all within the same paragraph.

She’d be all “I know who he is, I love him, I’m going to do this definitely, I know what I want but hmmm, he still has secrets, I don’t really know him at all, do I really love him? I don’t think I can do this, I don’t know what I want.” Oh, FTLOG, woman!  The amazing drag queen Latrice Royale needed to deliver a smackdown in the form of the 5 G’s.  Good God Girl Get a Grip.

I think, maybe, big maybe, that if the plot had been a little faster moving and I don’t know, stuff had actually happened, I may have been able to deal with her. That’s not the way it all went down though. In reality, nothing much happens until the last 10-15% of the book. The rest is her insecure, indecisive inner monologues, as well as Chris distracting her by seducing her and banging her into vanilla submission. When she wasn’t waffling over every decision or being seduced she would occasionally remember that she’s supposed to be looking for Rebecca and that her BFF Ella, is still MIA.  Such a great friend she is. Most of the book consisted of contemplating things, then changing her mind and pointless conversations…. yeah, you get it.  Needless to say, BEING ME got boring pretty fast.

Don’t get me wrong, there is some good stuff… eventually.  We find out almost everything that was still up in the air at the end of If I Were You.  She learns who, not only, Master 1 is but the identity of Master 2 as well.  Rebecca’s plotline is somewhat resolved we now know where she “supposedly” is and why she left; although, I feel like there is more to this story then what is revealed.  We also learn a lot more about the other some of the other characters. Chris is still super mysterious and we’re left with numerous new unanswered questions involving him. Also, there are some interesting revelations about Mark, Ricco, Eva and a there are a few new characters come into play. No, not that kind of play, maybe if it was that kind of play it would have been more interesting.

I struggled through a majority of this book so when the time came for the climax and the big reveals, I was not all that enthusiastic. I know, I’m sad too.  As per Ms. Jones usual BEING ME is exceptionally well written, but it lacked the pacing and intensity of the first book, as well as journals.

Despite not living up to expectations, this is definitely a must read for fans of the trilogy and so far I would most certainly not hesitate to recommend it. Even though I was less than impressed with this one, I still have high hopes that she can get things back on track with the third book and am looking forward to the conclusion, along with the last journal from Master’s pov.  That’s right, his pov, called The Master Undone. Hold on to your panties, ladies.

*This book was provided through NetGalley for an honest review. No other compensation was provided.

Rating: 3 Romanticals

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Lisa Renee Jones – Being Me

Leave a Reply

