Review: Normandie Alleman – Venetian Love Knots

Venetian Love Knots:

Venetian Love Knots

Purchase on Amazon:

Normandie Alleman – Venetian Love Knots

Summary:

From Goodreads.com

In Venice, Allison Fox will find love in the arms of two men. Her past collides with her future in a battle for her heart. Which one will win?

Travelling to Venice to be the maid of honour in her best friend’s wedding sounds like a great vacation, and a romantic way to spend Valentine’s Day. But when Allison Fox discovers who the best man is, she is torn between duty and self-preservation.

It has taken Allison four years to put her tumultuous relationship with the rodeo cowboy behind her. A violent incident ripped them apart. Now Allison must find a way to face her past and find closure with her old flame. But will she be able to put the past behind her?

Cole is the Texas cowboy has never got over his love for Allison. But when he declares his love for her after all this time, is she strong enough to walk away from the intense passion they share?

For years Nico, a handsome Italian, was committed to nothing but his work. Nico never expected he would meet an American beauty who would awaken in him a desire to love again. Once he finds her, Nico vows to never let Allison go.

It will be a Valentine’s Day to remember, but who will win Allison’s heart?

Review:

This was a quick, short read at a little under 70 pages. I was engaged from beginning to end with the story and the pacing was pretty good. There wasn’t really any time to get bored and the plot just kept moving along taking you with it.

I’m really happy this book was set in one of my all-time favorite countries and one of my favorite cities within that country. The setting is Venice, Italy. I’ve been to Venice twice so for me the descriptions of the city were pretty accurate and made me envision that I was back in Italy strolling along the streets taking in the vendors and splendor that is very unique city on water. If you haven’t been to Italy, I think that the author’s descriptions were good enough that you could envision yourself there. Or at least make yourself think it’s time to take that romantic getaway trip that you have been planning on but haven’t had the chance to take.

As for the romance that is set in one of the most romantic cities in the world, it is a love triangle. Typically, I’m not that into love triangles but this one wasn’t so bad. We have Allison, who has never quite gotten over Cole; whose was pretty much a dick in their “relationship” but the relationship was so intense in and out of bed that no one since has quite matched up. That is until Nico picks her up from the airport. Nico is the intense attraction with some more substance behind him. Nico is just as intensely attracted to Allison as she is to him. In this love triangle, Cole arrives in Venice determined to win Allison back. Since they parted he too has not felt anything as intense as it had been with Allison. All Cole really had to do to win Allison over was pretty much say hi. I was pretty disappointed that she went back to that douche so easily; but at the same time, when your dickmatized (Click here to see what dickmatized is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQaYADRtw8w ) sometimes it’s hard to think clearly. LOL. And this chick was clearly dickmatized… I am not a fan of Cole, from the get go, there really is just not much to like about him. His way of “making it up to” Allison for having sex with one of her best friends was to have a threesome with another man. Now, admittedly Allison is pretty sexually open, but come call it what it is a fantasy, but not a way to make it up to her. Only in a douches brain would that be a good way to make it up to the one who got away. Now that being said, that I clearly didn’t like our “hero”, I don’t think we were supposed to like him. I think Normandie Alleman didn’t want us to like him, wants us to root for Nico and for Allison to get her head out of her a$$ and choose the right man for her. But the question is, who will she pick in this crazy love triangle??

Since this is an erotica novel, I feel like I would be remiss in my duties if I didn’t at least mention the sex. I have to say it was pretty hot, there is some kink with light BDSM and a M/F/M threesome. The flash backs to a younger Allison and Cole as well as the older Allison and Cole, it is easy to see why the girl was dickmatized. Cole certainly knew what he was doing. He understood Allison’s needs better than she did. The threesome scene wasn’t what I was used to from other such scenes, Nico and Cole weren’t really a team, they didn’t really work together for Allison’s pleasure. It was basically three different people with three different goals. All three goals were hot and it was pretty sexy but it wasn’t as cohesive as I was used to, but it worked within this story’s framework. I think would have gone against the love triangle aspect if it had been cohesive with Nico and Cole working as a team.

Overall, it was a pretty good novella. I enjoyed it for what it is and I would pick up another book by this author in the future.

*This title was provided by the author for an honest review. No other compensation was provided.

Rating: 3.75 Romanticals

2 thoughts on “Review: Normandie Alleman – Venetian Love Knots

  1. Thank you for your review, Amanda. I completely agree Allison is totally dickmatized by Cole! That is a fabulous reference. After reading your review and thinking about Venice (my favorite city in the world) it makes me want to go back to Europe so much. I think I’ve got the seeds for a sequel planted in my brain now. Yay! Now to find the time to travel…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

