Review: Kelsie Leverich – The Valentine’s Arrangement

Hero for the Holidays Series:

Book 1:

The Valentine’s Arrangement: Ronnie Clark and Sergeant First Class Kale Emerson

The Valentine's Arrangement

Purchase on Amazon: The Valentine’s Arrangement: (InterMix)

Summary:

From Goodreads.com

“I didn’t want the line to get blurry, and I sure as hell didn’t want you to cross it.”

Ronnie Clark, an edgy tattoo artist with hopes of high tailing it out of the forsaken Military town she followed her now ex-fiancé to, is counting down the days until Valentine’s Day is over. Ronnie doesn’t do romance. She doesn’t do flowers or dates, and she sure as hell doesn’t do love—not anymore. After her fiancé slept with a female solider while deployed, she has vowed never to fall in love again, especially with a soldier.

Sergeant First Class Kale Emerson is home on his mid-tour leave from Iraq, but he only has one thing on his mind—returning to his deployment to finish leading his soldiers on their mission. The last thing he wants is a relationship, but casual sex, that’s a different story. And when he meets the renowned tattoo artist Ronnie Clark, a snarky, blunt, takes no prisoners kind of woman, that seems to be all he can think about.

But when Kale realizes he has met his match with a bombshell woman who is hell bent against love, will just sex be enough? And if it’s not, will he be able to convince Ronnie that the proverbial hearts and flowers aren’t so bad after all, even if he is a soldier?

“You changed something inside me, something I didn’t ever think I would want, or feel—but you did, and now I can’t go back”

This book contains explicit sex scenes and is recommended for readers 18+

Review:

I really quite enjoyed this book! It was hot and sexy from beginning to end. Ronnie’s snarky bad attitude made for a fun, interesting heroine. I don’t typically like heroines that don’t have a little bite to them, so Ronnie was right up my alley. I also like that she was the one that was the tattoo artist (think Kat Von D). I’ve read a few books where one of the main characters is a tattoo artist, but usually it’s the male so I like the role reversal. Ronnie was a tough, thick skinned chica, with a bad attitude and no room for love in her life. Her ex-fiancé had done a real number on her and she certainly wasn’t ready to trust her hear to another, especially another military man. To her they are a heart ache waiting to happen. When Kale walks through the door in her tattoo shop she throws the bad attitude to its full extent because she had never been so intensely attracted to another man before and it scared the shit out of her.  But her bad attitude may be no match for a determined solider!

Kale takes one look at Ronnie and knows he wants her even with all the bad attitude she throws his way. He knows she wants him just as badly as he wants her, so he’ll gladly take the bad attitude if it gets her where he wants her. I just adored Kale, due he took everything Ronnie threw at him and just kept smiling with cute dimples (I’m a sucker for dimples!) all the way to the bedroom. Kale only does one type of relationship, the type the ends when he leaves and no one has any hard feelings, so he isn’t sure why he’s so bummed when Ronnie offers him just that. His life is the military and that’s how he likes it, he lives and breathes the military lifestyle. His men are the most important to him and no woman has ever threatened that before, until Ronnie. Kale is the type of man, which every woman wishes she could find: loyal, committed, funny, steadfast and an all-around good guy. So why is Ronnie still pushing him away? He’s got a week to convince this reluctant woman that she is meant to be his and to take a risk on him.

I really liked how Kelsie Leverich approaches the military life style at least how it is for the woman left behind. I felt it was a pretty accurate to how it really is. I have a couple of friends that are military wives so I know how it is for them as the one that is left behind and has to keep on trucking as their men are risking their lives every day. The news becomes a nightmare every time there is a bombing in the area that her man is fighting in. They go into birth on their own, raise kids on their own as the man she loves comes in and out of her life. Ms. Leverich does not shy away from this and addresses these issues in her book. Ronnie is reluctant to enter into this type of lifestyle again and hell there is no way I can blame it. I’m not sure I could ever do it, so for me it is a special tough sort of woman that can. I can see how some who read this book may see Ronnie as a total bitch for not immediately taking on Kale, because, let’s face it, he is a catch, but I am not one of them. I have seen what this kind of life is like and it’s not for everyone, if anything I admire Ronnie for not jumping right into it.

Overall, this was a great read, it was quick, fast paced and sexy as all get out. Ronnie and Kale made the characters come to life and I was not a bit disappointed with this title. I would definitely recommend it to readers and am looking forward to any future titles from this author.

*I received this copy through NetGalley for an honest review. No other compensation was given.

Rating: 4 Romaticals

 

Leave a Reply

