Interview: Olivia Cunning

Hey everyone!

We have had the good fortune to be able to ask Olivia Cunning some questions, to get a quick peek into her mind! So here are the questions! Enjoy

Hot Ticket

Dawns Questions:

What inspired you to write your first book?

When I was sixteen, I kept having the same dream over and over again and each morning I’d lie in bed and allow my imagination to take the story a little farther. I became so enthralled in the “story” I decided to write it down. It escalated from there and I haven’t stopped writing since. I still do the lie in bed and let my imagination wander. I’m amazed with some of the things my brain comes up with when I give it free rein.

What are your current projects?

Hot Ticket from my Sinners on Tour series just released yesterday. I’m very excited about it! There’s one more book to be released in the series. Wicked Beat is coming out this August. I also have a serial series I publish called “One Night with Sole Regret”, which is a bit atypical in that the stories of all five characters intertwine and the thing is told one night at a time. Also, I will soon be working on the spin-off series to the Sinners series, which follows the band Exodus End. So I’ll be writing rock stars for a while longer. Not that I’m complaining. I do write other books, but they’re not nearly as popular as the rock star ones.

What motivates you to write?

Lots of things. I want to know what happens to these fictional people in my head. Fans constantly ask for more books. Oh and now that I’ve quit my day job, I have to support myself financially. My favorite motivation is that it’s fun!

What books/authors have most influenced your life?

I’d say Rosemary Rogers, as she was the first romance author whose work I fell in love with. I read THE WANTON in high school and I was hooked. And also Nora Roberts. I read a book of hers when I was nineteen (it was a Silhouette Desire that came out early in her career) and loved her voice so much I wanted to write just like her. I think I kind of strayed from that goal a bit. I still love how she writes though.

Who are your favorite authors?

I adore J.K. Rowling. Sidney Sheldon is another favorite. Dean Koontz and Stephen King’s early work. I like fast-paced books that never let up. So even though these authors don’t write in my genre, they all write in a similar style that keeps me turning pages until the wee hours of the night.

Amandas Questions:

If you were stranded on a deserted island for one week with only one of your guys from either: The Sinners, Sole Regret or Exodus End, who would you pick?

Steve, the drummer of Exodus End. Why? Because he’s the outdoorsy type and has excellent survival skills! Now if I was trapped on an island at a romantic resort with all the comforts of home, my answer would be different. *ornery grin*

Jace’s character is so heartbreaking, did you cry for him at any point while writing HOT TICKET?

I cried for him constantly when writing that book. And I still tear up when I read it now. Even though I know he’s happy now. I made sure he was happy. It’s what he deserves.

You are an avid fan of music; do you play any instruments or write any music?

I played flute and piccolo in junior high. I was really good at it and then I discovered boys—well, a boy. Band geek and bad boy collided and I dropped out of band. In retrospect, I should have chosen the flute. I did write some lyrics in Sed’s book. Yeah, I’m not very good at it.

Just thinking about HOT TICKET makes me want to re-read it, because it was that good. Do you ever re-read your own books just for the fun of it?

I reread them so many times when I’m writing and editing them, I’m sick of them by the time they go to print. I think once Eric’s book, Wicked Beat, is released in August I’ll sit down and read the entire Sinners series from beginning to end. See what all the fuss is about.

In HOT TICKET Aggie makes beautiful custom corsets, have you ever worn one? If yes, what were your thoughts on wearing a corset?

I haven’t ever worn a corset. I do think they’re beautiful and sexy. I wouldn’t mind donning one for a special occasion, but I wouldn’t want to wear one every day. I’m too fond of slouching. I also can’t sew worth beans, so I admire Aggie’s talent with a needle. The corsets I picture her making are truly breathtaking. Works of art. I love that her grandmother taught her embroidery and she uses it on something that more closely fits her personality.

Thanks for having me on your blog!

2 thoughts on “Interview: Olivia Cunning

Leave a Reply

