Review: Jay Crownover – Rule

Rule Series:

Book 1:

Rule: Rule Archer and Shaw Landon

Rule (Rule #1)

Purchase on Amazon: Jay Crownover – Rule

Summary:

From Goodreads.com

I had loved Rule Archer since the first moment I ever laid eyes on him. He was everything I shouldn’t want and the only person I went out of my way to not try and please. He only saw me as a brat, and an entitled, stuck up princess but worse than that all he saw when he looked at me was his deceased twin’s girl. It broke my heart because as much as I had loved Remy Archer there was never anything romantic between us and no matter how hard I tried to convince myself that loving Rule was a terrible idea, my poor heart just wouldn’t listen. We tolerated each other, barely and had forged an uneasy alliance until one night I had too much to drink and changed the way we were forever. Suddenly life long secrets were no longer hidden and the one thing I always wanted for myself seemed obtainable as long as I was willing to go through hell to hold onto it.

Shaw Landon was a class act and I had no idea what to do with her. She was tied to my family, tied to the person that was my other half so I tolerated her and her haughty attitude when I didn’t have any other choice. What I didn’t know was that a short skirt and too many cocktails on her birthday was going to change my outlook on her for the rest of my life. Some people thought I hid behind all my tattoos and piercings, that I tried to distance myself from my dead twin, Shaw saw through it all and wasn’t scared of what was underneath. We weren’t supposed to be together, weren’t supposed to be anything but uncomfortable acquaintances but that all changed in the blink of an eye. Now I had to figure out just how a girl like her and a guy like me were supposed to be in love without destroying each other. Add in her custom made ex and two disapproving sets of parents and the whole situation sounded like it was more trouble then it was worth.

Recommended for mature readers due to sexual content, language and drinking.

Review:

Ok, first things first, I have to mention the editing of this book. I am not usually an editing snob (I know my own is not always the best) and it usually doesn’t bother me much because it doesn’t really pertain to the story itself but this time it has to be discussed. This is quite possibly without a doubt the worst edited book I have EVER read. There has to be some sort of spelling or grammatical error on every single page. The editing was so bad it distracted me from the actual story which is quite good. I had to go back and reread sentences with the correct sentence structure in my head just to make sure I understood it correctly. I swear I don’t think anyone read over this book for any editing. However, that being said, I did read on the authors blog a few days ago that she has sent this book off for professional editing so hopefully this is mote point in a week or two. And the book will come back from editing all shiny and new and properly edited.  ***Update: It’s been edited and updated on amazon. So go forth and purchase!***

Ok, editing rant over. So I picked this book up pretty much because of the cover, I mean come on look at the hottie on the cover and top of that it was about a tattoo artist. I do have a thing for bad boys, specifically musicians and tattoo artists. I was a bit worried about another “opposites attract” story and had a feeling this book would be a lot like ROCK ME by Cherrie Lynn. I was not incorrect in that assumption. There are a lot of similarities to ROCK ME, especially due to the fact once again we have a bad boy tattoo artist and a good girl that always tries to please her parents and struggles with that. However, the stories are a bit different so this isn’t exactly like ROCK ME but similar.

Overall the story was good, it was fantastic but it was pretty good. I thought I would feel the same about Shaw that I did about Candace in ROCK ME which was EH but surprisingly enough I ended up liking Shaw a lot more than I expected. Shaw at first wasn’t willing to stand up to her parents but she quickly found a backbone and I liked that about her. She also knew her worth and would not let Rule treat her like his “groupies” which I liked about her. She was also a very loyal friend which I always like in a character. Now, Rule is a tool. Seriously, he’s kinda a douche. Well at least in the beginning he is, he grows as a character and loses some of his douchiness. By the end of the book I liked Rule, I didn’t LOVE Rule, bit he kind of grew on me. In ROCK ME we all LOVED Brain from the get-go, now he is a character that you lust after, always. I was expecting Rule to be more like Brain, but alas he wasn’t. Now Rule’s friends Nash and Jet, I could get down with. I liked them more than I did Rule, especially Nash. Jet is still an enigma but his book is next so I am sure we will find out a whole lot more about him. Along with Rule’s friends we have Shaw’s friend (Sorry I’m drawing a blank on her name right now) who I also really enjoyed as a character. I can’t wait to get to her story as well.

Despite the fact that this story was far from original I still really enjoyed it and the characters. The story does pull you in, it doesn’t grip you and not let you go but you spend a very enjoyable few hours in this world. Most of the story I saw coming from a mile away including Remy’s big secret that is hinted about and much of the story line we have seen from various other books just put together in a different way or order, but I find this is pretty common in Contemporary. This series has a lot of potential and I will definitely pick up the next book in the series whenever it may come out, which according to the author’s blog she is hoping to be in May, but that may change if she gets a contract. I do encourage any of those who do want to read this book to wait until it is properly edited which should be very soon. I also hope as someone who already purchased the book that I automatically get the revised edition. I would like to re-read the book without all of the errors.

Rating: 3.75 Romanticals

(I had to knock off some because of the editing because it did distract me and took away from the enjoyment of the story.)

Amanda Sig Orange

Leave a Reply

