Review: Sydney Landon – Not Planning on You

Danvers Series:

Book 2:

Not Planning on You: Suzy Denton and Grayson Mericom

 

Not Planning on You (Danvers, #2)

Purchase on Amazon:  Sydney Landon – Not Planning On You: A Danvers Novel (#2)

Summary:

From Goodreads.com

Suzy Denton seems to have it all together. She loves her job as an event’s planner for Danvers International, and she loves her high school sweetheart and fiance Jeff. Fast forward a month and it’s all gone to hell in a hand-basket. She finds out Jeff’s dentist has been doing more than drilling his teeth, and Danvers is in the process of merging with Mericom creating the largest communications company in the US and also bringing Gray Merimon, the CEO of Mericom into her life.

Gray pursues her from almost their first meeting. Even though he looks like sex on a stick, Suzy is afraid of being hurt again, and she thinks Gray is just another stuffed shirt looking for a relationship. When he calls her bluff, Suzy agrees to one night of sex, hoping that he will be terrible in bed and she can finally get him out of her system.

When circumstances throw them together for more than one night, can Gray convince Suzy that two complete opposites can be a perfect fit?

Review:

I have to say right off that I enjoyed this book better then the first. Suzy was definitely a scene stealer in the first book and her personality continued to leap off the pages in this book as well.

Suzy has a larger than life personality; she is funny, sassy and take charge. She has a great sense of style and does things because she wants too not because she is looking for approval. Growing up with her parents she is used to people being disappointed in her so she has long since given up on trying to please other people. I love that about her, she lives her life for herself and that’s how it should be. If you are always seeking approval from other people then you forget to live your life the way you want to live it and start to live your life as others think you should. Suzy definitely doesn’t have that problem but she does have a problem with trust. After her undeserving ex-finance cheated on her, her ego and trust has been badly bruised. For a year she has been fighting her attraction to Gray, they meet almost immediately after her man had cheated. She wants nothing to do with Gray, but every time he comes around he is relentless in his pursuit. She finally gives up and agrees to one night, one night turns into a lot longer when her foot is badly broken on their first date. Keeping a distance is a whole lot harder when you are partially living with the guy.

Gray has been working on Suzy for a year! He knows how badly she was hurt when her man cheated so he knows he has to go about wooing Suzy gently but he is not giving up. He knows she is the one! You have to love a man that knows his mind. No one is more surprised when Suzy accepts his offer of one night ‘to get it out of their systems”. He never had any intention of it only being one night; he is in it to win it! So when Suzy has a bad fall he is right there to pick up her back up and moves her right into his new home. Gray takes such good care of Suzy; he is really attentive and makes sure she has everything she needs. If I am ever sick or hurt I want gray to take care of me! He cooks for her, helps her shower, carries her around. Where can I find me a Gray? I want one! LOL When he has a major dilemma he tries his best to still make sure that Suzy is his priority but with circumstances as they are he can’t be there as much as he wants to be. He’s an honorable guy but being torn into two different directions. He’s definitely stuck between a rock and a hard place. Pobrecito! (poor guy)

There were a couple of things that I did want to point out, although Suzy and Gray were pretty much living together for a month they were probably only actually together under the same roof for about 5 days so that left about 25 days where they were apart. When you are reading it doesn’t seem like they were apart that long but when you think back it’s like huh, they were apart most of the book. And then there was Suzy’s injury, it was a broken foot, it’s not like a broken arm, it really shouldn’t have limited her as much as it did. I broke my foot when I was younger and I was pretty mobile, I definitely didn’t need full time help for weeks. I was pretty much doing everything on my own as soon as the cast was on and I only needed crutches for about a week. So her injury seemed really exaggerated. There was one other thing that about drove me crazy and it is super small but still… Gray called Suzy “baby” in just about every other sentence in a conversation between the two. I’m all for endearments but can we switch it up or hold back a bit on using the one? Again, this is a small petty details but it about drove me to distraction!

Ok so those were three minor details, the rest was great! I almost cried, I laughed a lot! I loved Gray and Suzy together. I even loved Gray’s brother and his parent’s. This book was funny and light hearted and there was a lot to like! I am looking forward to Declan’s book, hopefully it is next, he seems like a delish scarred alpha male type! Suzy’s sister Beth I am not sure how I feel about her. She was kind of too low self esteem for me. Why do authors always make girls who are bigger or are former fat girls so down on themselves? It hurts my heart and I don’t like to read it. But that is a rant for another time!

Pick this one up! It was quite an enjoyable read!

Rating: 4 Romanticals

 

Amanda Sig Orange

Leave a Reply

