Review: Carolyn Brown – Mistletoe Cowboy

Spikes and Spurs Series:

Book 5:

Mistletoe Cowboy: Creed Riley and Sage Presley

Mistletoe Cowboy (Spikes & Spurs, #5)

Purchase this book on Amazon: Carolyn Brown – Mistletoe Cowboy (Spikes & Spurs)

Summary:

From goodreads.com

‘Tis the season for…
•A matchmaking grandma on a long-disantance mission
•Mistletoe temptation in every doorway
•A sexy cowboy with a killer smile
Commitment! It made Sage run the other way. It made Creed shudder. But Sage’s granny, the Widow Presley, was determined to get her granddaughter a cowboy for Christmas. And who better than Creed, the man interested in purchasing the widow’s Rockin’ C Ranch?
The fact that a three-day blizzard was blowing in just made things all the better. A person can’t run from commitment when they’re snowed in, now can they?

Review:

If I could sum this book up in just one word, I think it would be mediocre. There was nothing really special about this book. It was meh. I’ve read other books in this series and quite enjoyed them. Our heroines are usually sassy and funny and the cowboys loveable and stand out. Now I’m not saying these characters are not likable, they are, but again nothing really sticks out about them. Sage is not particularly sassy or funny. She is a bit whinny and insecure, which I was not expecting.  Creed was more likeable, he is affable and friendly. He knows how to charm the ladies. We probably should have spent more time with Creed and less time with Sage.

The conversation felt awkward to me, it didn’t feel natural at times. It almost felt like the author is out of touch with how late 20’s and early 30 something’s talk.  Now granted I am no expert on rural Texas dialect. I’ve only been to Austin a few times and to Dallas. But I am from rural Indiana and we talked just like everyone else with a slight accent. LOL. So, I am not sure if in rural Texas it is common for the men to refer to themselves in the third person and using “cowboy” instead of their name. For example “This cowboy recons that it is time to do the chores”.  Now I don’t mind someone referring to themselves in the third person and as a cowboy occasionally, but it happened all the time.  It started grating on my nerves, I started thinking ok, I get it you’re a cowboy. Moving on now.  Speaking moving along, I usually finish a book in 1 or 2 days, sometimes 3 depending on how busy I am or if I’m reading more than one book at a time. This book took me almost two weeks to finish. It wasn’t good enough for me to be so into it that I read for long stretches but it wasn’t bad enough to put down to never pick it back up.

Now, I don’t want you thinking it was all bad. There were some endearing moments in this book, the animals were cute. There were a few touching moments. The neighbors added a little extra to the book, they added a distraction to the otherwise somewhat boring story line.

*This book was provided to me through NetGalley for an honest review. No other compensation was provided.

Rating: 3 Orchids

Amanda Sig

Leave a Reply

