Review: Tiffany Reisz–The Siren

The Original Sinners Series:

Book 1:

The Siren – Nora Sutherlin

The Siren (The Original Sinners, #1)

Purchase on Amazon: Tiffany Reisz – The Siren (The Original Sinners)

Summary:

From Goodreads.com

Notorious Nora Sutherlin is famous for her delicious works of erotica, each one more popular with readers than the last. But her latest manuscript is different—more serious, more personal—and she’s sure it’ll be her breakout book…if it ever sees the light of day.

Zachary Easton holds Nora’s fate in his well-manicured hands. The demanding British editor agrees to handle the book on one condition: he wants complete control. Nora must rewrite the entire novel to his exacting standards—in six weeks—or it’s no deal.

Nora’s grueling writing sessions with Zach are draining…and shockingly arousing. And a dangerous former lover has her wondering which is more torturous—staying away from him…or returning to his bed?
Nora thought she knew everything about being pushed to your limits. But in a world where passion is pain, nothing is ever that simple.

Review:

So I originally picked up the second book The Angel on Netgalley before I picked up this book. I had started reading it and felt like I was missing something. So my friend Ann from Under the Covers told me that I had to read the first book first, that there are some spoilers for the 2nd. I am so eternally grateful that I took her advice and went back and picked up The Siren! It is one of the best books I have read all year!

I don’t even know where to start with this book, I just loved ALL of it. So I really haven’t read much BDSM and Ann warned me that I was going with the big guns with the series. I told her then “When I go in, I go ALL in!” and she wasn’t kidding that this series is BDSM all the way!I was expecting more raunchy and nothing but sex, but what I got was so much different.

This book turned out to be as emotional as it was sexual. I ended the book with tears streaming down from my eyes. Not only was this tale emotional it was surprisingly funny. Laughing was the LAST thing I expected to be doing while reading this book, but it was really funny.  This book has everything to make it a stand out novel. Even weeks later I can’t get this book and it’s sequel out of my head.  Even though I’ve finished the two books the story and the characters are still lingering, they have a vice grip in my head. The characters, humor and sensuality are really what make this book!

Nora is exactly what I want to be when I grow up! LOL! She is confident, sassy, funny as hell and a woman that knows what she wants and is not afraid to get it. She owns her sexuality and makes no apologies for it. She is a complex character that has many dimensions that keep you engaged and keeps you on your toes. You never really know what Nora is going to do next, she also holds a big secret from Zach. She is one of the most interesting characters I have read. As one of the premier erotica writers she knows she has more to give to her writing. Her newest book is good but she needs to take it to the next level and the person that can take her to the next level is Zach one of the best editors in the business. He is tough as nails and does NOT want to work with Nora. Nora refuses to take no for an answer, even if she has to seduce a “yes” out of the hardass Zach.

Zach knows he is the best in the business and working with an erotica writer is an insult to him, but with 6 weeks until he is off to LA and his boss that wants Nora’s next book, he has little choice in the matter. When he meets Nora she is nothing that he expected. After his recent separation with his wife he knows Nora is a temptation he should not want, but may need. Watching the attraction between Nora and Zach grow is quite entertaining. Zach fights and fights his attraction to Nora, but his loneliness and Nora’s bold attitude start to wear him down. I loved Zach, he was one of my favorite characters, just his devotion to his estranged wife tugged at my heart strings. His pain and loneliness are tangible and Tiffany Reisz really makes you feel what he is feeling.

Soren is Nora’s ex-lover, the love of her life. She feel in love with him when she was 15 and left him around 27, now 5 years later she still misses him with everything that is in her. Soren also happens to be a Sadist and the one that taught Nora everything that comes along with being a submissive. Wesley, Nora’s roommate and best friend can’t stand the elusive Soren, but knows Nora still sees him and has feeling towards him. In this title Soren is still somewhat mysterious, we learn so much more about him in the second title. But what we do know about him is intriguing as all get out.

Oh, Wesley, cute, adorable yet so incredibly young, Wesley. I adore Wesley, I don’t know anyone that wouldn’t adore him. He’s kind, caring and utterly in love with Nora, if only he could make her see that. He knows he could be the best thing that ever happened to Nora, he can show her what love can be. That she doesn’t need to be hurt or hurt anyone to love. Watching Wesley with his heart on his sleeve with Nora not seeing really touches that part of every person that had a secret love or crush on someone you thought was out of your reach. It’s the relationship between Nora and Wesley they pulls at you that keeps hope in your heart and finally breaks it.

What I want to make sure that everyone knows is that this is NOT a romance, there is no real happily ever after in this book. This is an emotionally engaging tale that can not hope to have a real happy ending, someone will get hurt, maybe not just one person but maybe everyone involved gets at least a little bit hurt in more then one way. There is also very explicit sex scenes, BDSM is not for everyone and it can be very graphic in this title. Now BDSM is not my particular kink, but I found with this title it wasn’t as off putting as I thought it would be. I’ve never really understood the appeal, but I found myself better understanding those who choose or need this life style.  Despite that this is not a romance and does not end like one, I still highly recommend this read to anyone bold enough to give it a try. Forget 50 Shades of Grey! This is the true story, this is one of the best books of the year!

Rating:

5 Orchids

Amanda Sig Red

One thought on “Review: Tiffany Reisz–The Siren

Leave a Reply

